Menno Prins

Full Professor in Departments of Biomedical Engineering and Applied Physics

B1a: Eindhoven University of Technology, Molecular Biosensing group

20 years experience in industrial research; development of micro-nano sensing technologies; 100+ research papers and inventor on more than 90 patents
Read More

Maarten Merkx

Full professor and Dean at the Department of Biomedical Engineering, Head of the Protein Engineering group

B1a: Eindhoven University of Technology, Department of Biomedical Engineering

123 publications; young investigator grants from HFSP, NWO (VIDI), an ERC consolidator grant in 2012 and ERC Point of care grants in 2014 and 2017; Prize for the best TU/e teacher at the master level in 2012; associate editor for ACS Sensors; Supervision of 20 PhD, currently supervising 3 PhDs, and 50+ MSc students.
Read More

Peter Zijlstra

Associate Professor of Molecular Plasmonics

B1a: Eindhoven University of Technology, Molecular Biosensing group

Expertise in single-molecule detection using plasmonic and fluorescent approaches; PhD at Swinburne University of Technology (2009) in photothermal properties of single plasmonic nanoparticles with applications in optical data storage
Read More

Kurt Vesterager Gothelf

Full professor at the Department of Chemistry and iNANO

B2: Aarhus University, Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center

Director of the Center for Multifunctional Biomolecular Drug Design (CEMBID) and coordinator of the DNA-Robotics (H2020, ITN-MSCA); Background in organic chemistry; Expertise in DNA Nanotechnology, DNA conjugation and DNA self-assembly, surface chemistry and electrochemistry; Supervision of 30 PhDs and currently supervising 10 PhD students; Publication of 190 papers; H-index of 54 (WOS).
Read More

Hatice Altug

Full professor, Head of Bionanophotonic Systems Laboratory, Director of Doctoral Program in Photonics

B3:École Politechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, BioNanoPhotonic Systems Laboratory

Expert in experimental nanophotonics and its application in biosensing, bioimaging & surface enhanced spectroscopy. Executive board member of ETH/EPFL Women Professor Forum and bureau member of EPFL Women In Science and Humanities.
Read More

Sarel Fleishman

Director of the Dr. Barry Sherman Institute of Medicinal Chemistry

B4: Weizmann Institute, Dept. of Biomolecular Sciences

Group leader. Has supervised seven postdocs, eleven PhD students, and eleven MSc students. Expert in protein design and engineering, including the first method to design new enzyme and antibody structures, design of ultra-high specificity, design of stable and highly expressible biologics, and methods for the design of high efficiency therapeutic enzymes.
Read More

Jeroen Lammertyn

Full Professor in bionanotechnology and head of the Biosensors group

B5: KU Leuven, MeBioS Biosensor Group

Expertise in bio-assay development, micro- and nanofluidics and biosensors for medical and agrofood applications; Technical program committee member MEMS, MicroTAS and Transducers; >250 articles in peer-reviewed journals, H-index: 48; Supervision of 60 PhD students (38 completed, 22 ongoing)
Read More

Kai Johnsson

Director at MPImF, Department of Chemical Biology

B6: Max-Planck-Institute for Medical Research, Department of Chemical Biology

introduction of different approaches to specifically label proteins in living cells (SNAP-tag, CLIP-tag); Executive Editor of JACS; co-founder of different start-ups; elected member of EMBO; 160+ publications and 24 patents; Currently supervision of 9 PhDs.
Read More

Marien de Jonge

Associate Professor, Head of the Laboratory of Medical Immunology

B7: Radboud University Medical Centre, Department of Laboratory Medicine

Expert in infectious diseases, special focus on vaccination and improvement of diagnosis of respiratory tract and invasive infections, involved in multiple large national and international projects focused on biomarker discovery, immune monitoring and diagnosis. Supervised 10 PhD students, is currently supervising 9 PhD students, won Venture Challenge Award 2017 with the exhaled breath sampler for the improvement of the diagnosis of lung infections.
Read More

Filip Delport

CTO and co-founder of FOx Biosystems

B8: FOx Biosystems NV

Expertise in bio-assay and optical sensors development; PhD at KUL (2011) in biosensing technologies and postdoc at KUL on fiber optic SPR biosensing technologies; Supervision of >15 Master thesis students and internships. Consultant experience in sensor technologies for agrofood companies; 20 peer-reviewed articles, h-index: 10.
Read More

Junhong Yan

Scientist at Helia Biomonitoring

B9: Helia Biomonitoring B.V.

Scientist at Helia Biomonitoring. Has supervised 4 master students. Molecular biochemist by training, specialized in sensitive and specific biomolecule detection with affinity-based approach.
Read More
Partner Organisations